Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Advisory Panel

The Welsh Language (Wales) Measure 2011 states that the Commissioner will have an Advisory Panel.  The Commissioner may consult the Advisory Panel on any matter.
The appointment of the Advisory Panel

Members of the panel will be appointed by Welsh Ministers. The panel must include between 3 and 5 members at any one time, and members will be in post for 3 years. 
Members of the Advisory Panel were announced in April 2012.  Currently these are Dr Ian Rees, Gareth Jones, and Professor Gwynedd Parry, and Bethan Jones Parry and Carl Cooper were also appointed in September 2014. Their appointments will run to 31 March 2015.  Dr Rees chairs the Panel.
The Advisory Panel was appointed under the Welsh Language (Wales) Measure 2011. The Commissioner may consult the Advisory Panel in connection with the exercise of his or her functions.
For more information about the role of the Advisory Panel go to Schedule 4 of the Welsh Language (Wales) Measure 2011.
The biographies of the Advisory Panel members
Dr Ian Rees 
Dr Rees was a Headteacher of Ysgol y Moelwyn, Blaenau Ffestiniog, and was also a Principal and Chief Executive of Coleg Meirion-Dwyfor, Gwynedd.  In recent years he has served as a director of several organizations, including Canolfan Iaith a Threftadaeth Nant Gwrtheyrn and also a member of ELWa’s Mid Wales Regional Committee.
Dr Rees has a key senior role within Grwp Llandrillo Menai as Principal of Coleg Meirion-Dwyfor and Group Executive Director with responsibility for Regeneration and External Affairs.
Between 2006 and 2012 he was a Ministerial Appointment to the Arts Council for Wales. Between 2011 and 2012 he was an independent member of the Board of Directors of the Coleg Cenedlaethol Cymraeg.
He is Chairman of the Governors of Ysgol Treferthyr, Cricieth.
Gareth Jones
Gareth Jones was Headmaster of John Bright School, Llandudno and a Councillor for Llandudno town and County Council Borough of Conwy.
He was elected a Plaid Cymru Assembly Member for Conwy 1999-2003, and then for the Aberconwy constituency between 2007 and 2011, following changes to the boundaries. During this period he chaired committees relating to education and enterprise and skills, and was a member of the Legislative Committee which scrutinized the Welsh Language (Wales) Measure on its journey through the Assembly.
From 2003 to 2007 he was Chair of Higher Education Wales’ Welsh Medium committee.
He has been an examiner for WJEC and a member of the team that translated Geography Terms into Welsh.
He was one of five Commissioners serving the Isle of Anglesey County Council, and Chair of the North Wales Welsh for Adults Strategic Group. He is a trustee of Nant Gwrtheyrn Language Centre.
Professor Gwynedd Parry
Gwynedd Parry is Professor of Law and Legal History, and director of the Hywel Dda Research Institute at Swansea University.
He is also a barrister and a member of Temple Chambers, Cardiff. He is an expert on the legal status of the Welsh language and minority languages jurisprudence, and is a fellow of the Royal Historical Society (FRHistS).
Bethan Jones Parry
Bethan Jones Parry has extensive experience in communications and broadcasting through the medium of Welsh. 

She was a news presenter on S4C and a member of BBC Wales’s Broadcast Council and ITV Wales’s Viewer’s Committee for periods during the 1980s and the 1990s.

She has facilitated and chaired meetings for Anglesey council, the Welsh Government and police among others.

She was head of press and public relations for North Wales Police, manager of the Kate Roberts Heritage Centre and director of the Welsh language programme at the National Writer’s Centre for Wales in Tŷ Newydd, Llanystumdwy.

She now coordinates the Gwynedd Slate Mining Areas’ application to receive World Heritage Status and chairs a group which considers the possible effects of a new nuclear power station on the Welsh language on Anglesey.

She was President of Dyfodol i’r Iaith from 2012-14 and President of Merched y Wawr’s Llwyndyrys branch from 2013-15. has extensive experience in communications and broadcasting through the medium of Welsh.  

Carl Cooper
He has spent all of his working life in the voluntary sector. He worked for the Church in Wales for 25 years and has held senior management and leadership roles since 1999.

Born in Wigan, he has worked and lived in Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion, and Gwynedd. He  learned Welsh and is now fluent in the language.

In the past, he has served on the Church in Wales’ governing board, Trinity College’s council, BBC’s Audience Council Wales and Children in Need Wales’ charity committee. He is a member of the Powys Local Services board and the Welsh Government’s Third Sector Partnership Council.

He began his role as Chief Executive of Powys Association of Voluntary Organisations in July 2008. He is involved in supporting and representing the third sector in a number of ways on a local, regional and national level.  

By continuing to use our site, you are agreeing for us to set a small number of cookies. Cookie Policy